top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCVA AMS

August 15th Meeting Recap!

On August 15th, weather enthusiasts and meteorologists once again gathered at The Grapevine! The designated speaker for the evening was yours truly (Rohan). I am currently a rising senior at Cornell University studying atmospheric sciences and have just completed my third internship. For my presentation, I focussed on the differences I have observed between the public and private sectors and also then chronicled my internship experiences.


Important Announcements/Updates:


However, before the presentation could get started, some important club announcements and updates were made. Russ provided a quick treasurer's report and the champion snow forecaster plaque was presented to me after I predicted a seasonal snowfall total at Richmond International Airport of 2.7 inches. Our total season snowfall: 0.0 inches. This is the first time in Richmond's recorded history that not even a trace of snow fell during the entire winter. Sad times for winter weather lovers in central VA. With a strong eastern-based el nino looking likely this winter, it seems that central VA may have to rely on one lucky storm to see any appreciable snow.


It was then time for me to present! I first discussed the primary employers in the private and public sectors and then compared and contrasted the hours, compensation, and culture often seen at private and public sector organizations. I then spent the majority of my presentation discussing my 3 internship experiences (VA DEQ, CPC, and SESCO Enterprises). I had a great time talking about the work I've done over the past few years and meeting everyone after a long time.


Below are the zoom recording and pictures from the meeting! Our next meeting will be November 3rd, which is the Mid-Atlantic Severe Weather Conference. We can't wait to see you there!


Zoom Recording:


Passcode:

?9$+yZI6



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page